Eight weeks of silence begins

I’m writing these posts now (beginning October 19th, 2014), but they won’t be published until much later. I’m doing it this way because, oddly enough, in spite of my grumping to the contrary, I have something that I do want to keep quiet for the moment.

I do, however, want to record the next 8 weeks’ journey, because it’s a scary one that doesn’t always get discussed much and it’s a really scary one for the ladies and their partners who are on it.

Yesterday, I discovered that I am pregnant again for the 4th time. It was a bit of a surprise, to be honest. I had been advised that, since everything was taking so long, I needed a HSG procedure (where they inject liquid into your uterus and tubes and X-ray you to see if there are any blockages etc.). After much chasing of consultant’s poor secretary I had the appointment booked for next cycle. That way we wouldn’t waste an egg and could try again after the procedure. Then, on Friday, I had some spotting. Blasted period was two days early. That changed things. The procedure would now be right on my ovulation date. Another month wasted. Another month I wasn’t going to get any younger. I texted the nurse to see whether I could have an earlier appointment, and she’s going to find out for me on Monday morning. I now need to let her know that I no longer need the procedure at all.

What made me test on Saturday? The pain sleeping on my chest on Friday night, the fact that the spotting had stopped rather than developing into a full period flow. To give you an idea of how confident I was that it would be negative, I can tell you that I left it on the side in the bathroom and didn’t check it for half an hour. Given that the results are only really reliable for 10 minutes, I assumed that the faint line was an evaporation line. But it bothered me enough to buy a ClearBlue digital test later that morning. Which was positive. Decisively.

Alright, then. So far I have emailed every medical care-giver I’m currently connected with (which is a long list) to set the wheels in motion to get the early scans and prescriptions I need if I’m to stick to the Coventry plan of progesterone (straight away) and heparin injections (after the pregnancy is confirmed to be in the right place – heparin and an ectopic pregnancy would be very dangerous indeed) . I’m hoping it won’t be a battle. I’m hoping that this one will stick.

Leave a Reply

